Around the ATA

Trap and Field's Around the ATA article from the Atlantic Provinces ATA Delegate

Entry: October 2022

October 2022

Hello from the Atlantic Provinces.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Trapshooting Championships were held August 14, 2022 at the St. John’s Rod and Gun Club and the Stephenville Shooting Club. Shoot organizers chose a satellite shoot format again this year as they felt it gave more shooters an opportunity to participate, who otherwise would not have, considering the high cost of travel. Eighteen shooters participated in the one day, 300 target shoot including new ATA members Christian Winter and Glenn Perfect.

Troy Coldwell had the high score in the Newfoundland Sportsman Singles and the Dave Anstey Champion of Champions events. In the singles categories, Holly Pike won the Lady and Peter Tucker won the Senior category awards. This was Peter’s first year competing as a Senior category shooter.

In the Doubles competition, Joe Rosa outshot Troy Coldwell by one target to claim the Championship. Coldwell won AA Class and John Tucker, Roger Butler and Al Skinner won B, C and D Classes respectively. There was no entry in A Class.

John Tucker won the Pat Wall Handicap for the second year in a row, out shooting Runner-up Dave Batstone by one target. Troy Coldwell and Joe Rosa finished third and fourth.

Shooters in Nova Scotia held their provincial championships August 20 and 21 at the Highland Gun Club in Yarmouth, NS. Nineteen shooters competed in the two day, 400 target competition.

Jim Hannah claimed the Singles Championship and in the categories, Janaya Nickerson won Lady and Lloyd Litwin won Senior. Doug Blades, Rejean d’Entremont and Steven d’Entremont claimed A through C Classes respectively. Visiting Ontario shooter Jennifer Arnold won D Class.

In the Doubles Championship, Jim Hannah, Herbie Nickerson and Brian MacLeod tied for top spot. After a one round shoot-off, Hannah claimed Champion, Nickerson A Class and MacLeod B Class. Reynold d’Entremont won C Class and Clyde d’Entremont won D Class.

Davis Atwood shot a 97 to win the Handicap Championship and also earned a one yard punch to the 21 yard line. Reynold d’Entremont won Runner-up and Steven d’Entremont took third place. Lloyd Litwin finished fourth and Doug Blades finished in fifth place.

Complete shoot results for the NL and NS shoots can be found on

For more information on the Atlantic Provinces Trapshooting Association, feel free to contact me or visit



Andrea Bassan

Previous Entries

© Atlantic Provinces Trapshooting Association 2023